IMPORTANT NOTICE
COVID-19 Update! We are still open and We are now offering Virtual Meetings to all our clients.
Please call us at (815) 290-9170(708) 919-5415 for any help.

The MacNeil Firm Ltd. Make a Payment

DUI Lawyer Orland Park Illinois | DUI Repeat Offenders


If you’ve already been arrested and convicted of a DUI and it is happening again, you are likely more worried about the consequences. You know they are likely to be more severe and have a bigger impact on your life. Even those who have made more than one mistake deserve representation. Our DUI Lawyer Orland Park Illinois at The MacNeil Firm is here to help. Contact us today for a consultation at (708) 218-0947 or (708) 218-0947. 

In Illinois, a DUI is the most serious offense for which you can be arrested. A conviction for this charge has serious consequences, such as jail time, high fines, and a permanent criminal record. We are here to help you understand what happens to repeat offenders with multiple DUIs in Illinois.

Illinois DUI Charges 

Illinois is a zero tolerance state. That means that if you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will be charged with a DUI. Even if your BAC is below 0.08%, if the officer believes that there’s enough evidence to charge you with DUI they can do so and bring charges against you.

If you’re convicted of DUI in Illinois, you’ll face a suspension of your license by the Illinois Secretary of State. In addition to paying a reinstatement fee and completing a DUI education course, you may also be required to complete a substance abuse course or face jail time and fines.

The majority of states, including Illinois, require first-time DUI offenders to have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed on their vehicles. Illinois also requires a camera unit on the BAIID to capture the image of the driver as they perform their breath test.

DUI Second Offense 

Illinois has a zero-tolerance policy for DUI convictions, meaning that a DUI will stay on your record for life. Therefore, any consecutive DUI convictions following your first charge will count as a 2nd offense.  

If you are charged with a DUI, you incur penalties by the DMV prior to being found guilty in the court of law. That includes having your driver’s license automatically suspended for at least a year. If you refuse a chemical test for your blood-alcohol concentration, the automatic suspension can be for up to three years. 

If you receive a guilty conviction, you will face criminal consequences as well. These include:

  • At least five days of jail time or 240 hours of community service 
  • At least a $1,000 fine (not including court costs) 
  • Attendance of a victim impact panel (VIP) 
  • Alcohol and drug evaluation and possible rehabilitation 
  • Having your license revoked for a minimum of 1 year

The consequences are even greater if there are aggravating factors such as a BAC of .16% or higher, having a passenger under 16 years of age in the car, causing harm to another person, or speeding excessively in a school or construction zone. 

If you’re facing a DUI charge for the second time, The MacNeil Firm can help. Our knowledge of Illinois’ DUI laws and their unique distinctions gives us the edge to mount a defense that is well-prepared. Contact us today.  

Third DUI Offense

If you are convicted of your third DUI offense, you are facing a Class 2 Felony. A third offense comes with a variety of possible punishments. You may be facing: 

  • A minimum of 10 days in jail or 480 hours of community service
  • A maximum of 3-7 years in jail if no aggravating factors are present
  • A maximum fine of $25,000

If aggravating factors are present such as a BAC of .16% or higher, having a passenger under 16 years of age in the car, causing harm to another person, or speeding excessively in a school or construction zone the consequences could be:

  • A minimum of 90 days in jail 
  • A maximum of 7-14 years in jail 
  • A minimum fine of $2,500 
  • A minimum fine of $25,000 

Restricted Driving Permit (RDP)

With a first, second, or third DUI conviction, you may hold a restricted driving permit (RDP). This can only be used for essential purposes like school, work, and medical appointments, and requires drivers to purchase and install an ignition interlock device (IID). The length of time you are required to have the interlock device and the financial penalties do vary depending on if you’re a first, second, or third time offender. 

Contact our DUI Lawyer Orland Park Illinois to help you with your DUI Defense

If you’re arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), you could face a number of penalties. The best thing you can do if you’re arrested is to call a DUI lawyer Orland Park Illinois right away. At The MacNeil Firm, we can help you understand your rights and defenses, as well as the potential consequences of a conviction. Retaining counsel is especially important if this is not your first offense because we know how best to defend against harsh penalties such as jail time or license suspension.



 

Share this Article

Compassionate criminal defense attorneys at The MacNeil Firm Ltd. Illinois provide personalized services to their clients.

Request Free Case Evaluation